Home » Myself » Anniversaries – Not Always Happy

Anniversaries – Not Always Happy

So, I don’t usually bring this up at all, but it’s hitting me a bit hard this year. On this date 11 years ago (which happened to be Mother’s Day), I found out I was pregnant as a result of the rape. This year it’s like a punch in the stomach. And I know in a few weeks in July, it will be the anniversary of my miscarriage.

When I found out about the pregnancy, I admit, I was shocked and devastated. I now have a reminder of what had happened to me, and have it always there. I didn’t want that. I felt that  would not be able to care for this child without constant reminders. I didn’t tell my family, because then I’d have to tell them about the rape, not something I wanted to do.

It took a little bit of time, and I’m unsure why, but my mind changed. I accepted the fact that I was pregnant, as well as realized that it was not this baby’s fault. This baby that was starting to grow inside of me, was not who  hurt me and took away what was me. This could be a chance to make myself better, perhaps get over what had happened, or at least move past it. This could be my silver lining, after all, I was always wanting my own family and children.

Then the bottom dropped out again. At around 14 weeks pregnant, I lost the baby. My world fell apart again. After just realizing that I had a chance to find a bit of happiness and move on a little bit, it disappeared again. I had a bubble of sunshine, that was swallowed back up in the empty. It was after this that I had slipped into the deepest darkest depression that took forever to get out of. You know the one, where I was self harming, attempted suicide, cut myself off from anyone, so on and so on.

So for some reason this year, it’s hitting me hard. I’ve cried a few times this week and felt awful. If I’m feeling like this now, what’s it going to be like in a couple of weeks? I hope the dark doesn’t become too much.

CSC_0240

13 thoughts on “Anniversaries – Not Always Happy

  1. Again, I wish there was a button labeled “oh, sweetie, I am so sorry life fkn sucks sometimes, but we are here for you and you are one of the finest people I virtually know”… until then, please accept the LIKE’s and know where we are coming from…

    I cannot imagine the pain, devastation and loss you must have experienced, and am sorry this year is a rough one. I know words are pointless, but if there is anything I can do to make this time easier for you, let me know.

    All the respect, support and love in the wide world…

  2. Absolutely no need to explain… everything is relative, perspective is personal and NEVER apologize for being a human who needs support and love… =)

      • Aw that sucks hun, I’m sorry. I always wish that others did not have to go through the same things. I wish I could take all of the pain away and remove ever bruise and scar left, internally or externally.

  3. What an awful time. There are no words to erase what you’re going through, or even to make it better, but you’re so strong to have dealt with what you have, and to continue to do so. With everyday, the age old cliche of “time is a healer”, should start to become apparent, or else I really hope so! Best wishes

Leave a Reply

